Outboard Motor Running Rough at Idle

Okay so as some of y'all know i recently bought a pontoon. Its got a 98 50hp johnson 2 cyl 2 stroke. It runs great at everything other than idle. I don't have a tach but i'd say at everything over 2000 rpm. Runs great wide open. When its at idle it is only running on one cylinder. I found that out when i pulled the plug wires. I am getting spark to both cylinders because the sucker shocked me both times. But I'm not sure how strong of a shock. I also replaced both plugs

On the cylinder that isn't running at idle, I think the carburetor is the issue. When i pulled off the flame arrestor there was fuel puked up all around the carburetor. And on the top of the carb where the primer goes in it had a pretty good residue of gas. around it. I cleaned it, and saw some more starting to squeeze out. I'm by no means an expert on these things so any thoughts will help.

haha the only thing i will ever even possibly spend a grand on the boat is seats. The top cyl is the one that does great at idle, and the bottom is the one that needs help. So i think i'm gonna swap the carbs between the top and bottom cylinders to see what is going to happen.

haha the only thing i will ever even possibly spend a grand on the boat is seats. The top cyl is the one that does great at idle, and the bottom is the one that needs help. So i think i'm gonna swap the carbs between the top and bottom cylinders to see what is going to happen.
Usually the carbs are in a designated position. Sounds like the carb needles/seats need a good cleaning or a new intake gasket and reeds. Also check the specs for the number of turns in/out on the air/idle mixture which looks to be on top plate of your carb in that diagram if it has it. That gasket leaking is not good either because it could cause a lean running cyl.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

Last edited: