Used Car/SUV ideas

My sister in law is looking for a used car/suv. She wants to stay around $3500-4500 range. She is a single mom so I'm trying to help her find something reliable. She is wanting a Foreign car because she is hoping will last longer. I have no experience with foreign cars so that's why I am asking for your opinions. She has a Grand Cherokee now and says she doesn't want another Jeep. This one has nickel and dimed her pretty bad. I have found some Sante Fe's, Sorentos and XTerras. Do you guys have any opinions on what would be better or worse for her to look at? Thanks DJ

LBarr2002

LIFETIME
SUPPORTER
There's a reason you don't see many older Kias, Hyundais, etc on the road. They're getting better, but looking in that price range you'll be looking at ones I'd stay away from. Civics or Carolla would probably be your best bet, but they hold their value pretty well and can still cost a lot to service and maintain.

Shannon's carolla has been a great car. The week she bought it she had the crap stock tires replaced with michelins and it's super quiet now. She's put over 50k on it in around two years.

Used SUV you can't beat the CRV or a 4runner. My moms old 4runner just ticked over the 500k mark with no serious repairs. Her CRV was a great one too, but she sold it to get a truck to pull a camper with. She should have just kept the 4runner and pulled with it. Her sister owns it now and it just won't quit.