First time builder

This all started with a Christmas present from my awsome wife. She surprised me with this 2000 tj.
001 (2).jpg
This is the specs when I got it.
I think its about 5.5 inches of lift via 4" springs and adjustable coil spacers in the front and srings and spacers in the rear.
36x15.5 Baja MTZ's on 20"Fuel Hostage wheels.
G2 Dana 44 front axle with 456 gears and an OX locker
Stock dana 35 in the rear
Smitty Built front and rear bumpers.

Well this is my first build so I've already made some mistakes. Thats why I started this thread, so let the input and constructive critisism fly. My first mod was to regear the rear axle, but when I opened it up the spider gears were shot. So I put a Detroit Locker in it. Well you probaly know what happened next, yep broken axle shaft.
P1010033.jpg
So I put in some chromoly shafts and got some junk yard shafts for spares until I can fit an 8.8 in to the budget.
Heres what else I've done so far.
Sold the 20's and got some 35x12.5 and Craiger soft 8's.
SYE kit and CV drive shaft.
Warn 8000# winch.
101.jpg
109.jpg
This is how it sits now.

Attachments

Did that TJ used to be for sale at that tire shop in lexington, near the san joses on 1? Cant remember the name of the place, but the color and those wheels that were on it when you go it look familiar. BTW, looks like your shop is pretty well outfitted for your first build.

Yeah, d35=a POS that is a waste of money and waste of time. Those things are set up for failure in stock form, so a locker is a sure way to grenade one. I've know guys to break the carriers driving over a curb to get into their driveway on 33s.

Next thing you might want to look at is the height of the springs/ACOS with short arms. Those arms have to be at a pretty nasty angle that is transferring all bumps and partial up travel straight into the frame. Do you have aftermarket control arms? Are they adjustable? Also, do you still need to run those wheels spacers that appear to still be on the axles?