cracks in unibody

Hey guys, I'm an alum, joined the club shortly after it formed when I was a sophomore. Anyhow, after a brief 4-year exhile in Chapel Hill for med school, I'm back in Anderson working at the Family Medicine Residency.

I've had a bumper built by Brooks on my jeep for about 5 years now. It was a great bumper for the tire carrier and as a recovery point. However, it was not great as a tow point because it was too high and too much leverage, especially when you account for the 7.5" drop hitch I had to use to tow any trailers. Well, after my move towing my trailer, I started to get concerned about the stock bumper mounts (the bumper used the stock ones and the hitch mounts), especially after towing my dad's boat one weekend. I found cracks around the stock bumper mounts, so I pulled the bumper, and found this:

on the passenger side
DSC02635.jpg

on the driver's side
DSC02632.jpg

on the rear
DSC02631.jpg
DSC02630.jpg
DSC02642.jpg

And several more like that above. Basically hairline cracks spreading from the mounting points. This came from heavy tongue loads with a lot of leverage on a long and high hitch point, that caused a lot of torque on those mounts. The flat bar that tied into the hitch points was great for straight on pulls, but not for weight on the hitch, and didnt resist the torque.

The cracks didn't stop at the mounts. The first set of pictures are looking back at the rear crossmember. The rails basically split where they meet the rear crossmember.

I have since stop-drilled the cracks so they wont spread further. On the inside, I cut the remainder of the rail that welds to the rear crossmember and removed it since it was already weakened. My plan was to get angle or flat plate (welded into angle) to tie the framerails back into the rear crossmember. This would overlap the mounting holes, which I would drill out and add nuts for the mounting bolts.

The problem is I don't weld.