Allen from Goose Creek, SC

Hey all, I'm fairly new to 4 wheeling. I picked up a 88 Tin Top Samurai a month ago and am outfitting it for camping and exploring.

At her best:

20131230_144821_zpsfdd73a39.jpg

At her dirtiest.

20131227_142158_zpsf8f4cd4b.jpg

Looking forward to meeting some of y'all on the trails. If you see me on the road, give me a shout on CB Ch 19.

Thats a clean rig. Whats under the hood?
It has the 1.6 Tracker engine conversion, so it's only marginally under-powered rather than grossly under-powered.

It came with a pile of parts to be installed. This weekend it's going under the knife for the 5.13/1 differentials, Spartan Locker, Front shock towers, rear shock mount and YJ spring conversion with missing links. While I'm in there, I'm going to do the front universals. I'm getting that tell tail vibration when the front hubs are locked. Should be a fun weekend.

The gears should help the lack of power some, the rest of it will make it ride, drive and flex better. Big change from sports cars. I'm used to making things stiff, not soft. :grin:

8 valve or 16? And does it have tcase gears?
8 valve and stock gears in the diffs and the transfer. I got an extra set of 3rd members with 5:13 gears. I'm going to go through them, put a Spartan in the front, and try to get them installed this weekend. That should help my gearing problem without making it totally useless on the highway.

LBarr2002

LIFETIME
SUPPORTER
What size tires are on it? And are the axles stock? I know you already have the axle gears, but case gears would help you out some in high range for the road and be much lower in low. Also, stock 3.73 ring and pinion is much stronger than 5.13. My dad ran 5.38s in Sami axles and broke gears several times.

The 8v is a torquey little motor.