converting ac compressor to fill air tank?

yes, I helped two people do it on cherokees. There are some good writeups online. i'll see if I can dig them up.

the biggest problem with the stock sanden compressors is that they require an in line oiler.

I've got my stock AC converted to an OBA system. Here's a video that might help. It's an easy job. ...I don't have an air tank though.

[video=youtube;PSM8UA4DL-g]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSM8UA4DL-g[/video]

A/C is more important than having air in your tires...
Yep!
It's not as fast, but I got a viair 380c on eBay new $150.
It's 2.5cfm 100% duty at 200psi, 2gal tank under the jeep and it will do all 4 tires from flat to 30psi in 10-15 min. I got $225 in the whole setup, and it's not overkill. I'm a tech, and speaking from experience, realistically how often do you need to run air tools on the trail? Never! There's barely enough room in the back for recovery equipment and hand tools! Not to mention how it's nice to have AC when it's cookin hot!

I helped Rich Ivie do his setup. More like observed. Best way to go about it is to find and old shop air compressor in good working order and strip every component including the tanks and adapt it together. Piecing it together from scratch can be pricey. With an old complete air compressor lying around to disassemble it does make it easier to figure out as well.

Oh, if you really want to do a serious OBA then grap an air brake compressor from any old international. The duty is 100% and it's nearly 9cfm. There are no shortage of 4600 international dumps, or school busses around. Grab one then just figure out the mounting bracket.

No I was not trying to belittle the AC comp. idea, but pointing out that there are easier ways, and less arduous things to think of!

I have used one of those before, and it now resides in my AATV storage box. Not recommended for big tires! At least I don't recommend it for big tires. They get hot fast, and are not water friendly at all!